2017 CGCC Mortuary Science Graduation and Scholarships

May 11, 2017 – 26 new Mortuary Graduates from Chandler Gilbert Community College proudly took the Funeral Service Oath and officially entered into the field. Congratulations to each and every one of these students and for what they accomplished.

AFCCA William Aaron Scholarship Presentation

The AFCCA is dedicated to promoting the further development of professional, ethical, responsive death care providers that are a credit to the industry. This is why the  William Aaron Scholarship Program was created for current Mortuary Science students at Chandler Gilbert Community College.

Each year, AFCCA offers a $1000 scholarship to a student who demonstrates potential industry leadership, passion and dedication.

Applicants that meet set criteria are asked to submit an essay on “Why They Want to be a Funeral Director.” A scholarship committee, made up of board members, reviews all applications and chooses the student that best reflects professionalism, ethical actions and has a passion for the industry.

At the May 11th Graduation, on behalf of the scholarship committee and AFCCA Board of Directors, Heather Long was pleased to announce and present the 2017 William Aaron Scholarship to Karoline Christin Davidson.

[su_column size=”1/1″]

The Dodge Award

When the Dodge Company was founded over 125 years ago, A.J. Dodge travelled the country selling, and teaching embalmers how to use the embalming chemicals of the day.

The Dodge award is presented to students who show outstanding scholastic achievement in the subjects of embalming and restorative arts. The Dodge company has always placed education at the forefront of our profession, and education and continuing education, we feel is paramount to the future of our profession.

The 2017 recipient is James Crouch, congratulations on this prestigious award. Thank you to our Arizona Rep, Rory McKeown for making this award available.


Recognition of SCI Scholarship Finalists

Each year SCI offers Mortuary Science students from around the country the opportunity to apply for a competitive scholarship program that awards 30 students scholarships totaling $50,000. The process includes writing a 200-250 word personal statement answering pre-determined questions; providing transcripts proving a 2.5 GPA or higher; and submitting a 3-5 minute video verbally answering three questions.

This year, 186 students from 29 nationwide schools applied, CGCC had 18 students that completed the application process. Out of those 186 students, the SCI Scholarship Committee narrowed it down to 50 finalists, with 7 students coming from CGCC. Students placing in the 16-50 received $1000 in scholarships; in 4-15 place receive $3000; top three receive $5000.

CGCC had six students receive $1000 scholarships: Congratulations to Chelsea Marie Mesa,  Angelique Julia Garcia, Kevin A. McKeehan, Sirrine Nicole Homan, Stephanie L. Woods and Uriah Grissom!

And finally, CGCC had one student in the top three and she was awarded a $5000 scholarship; Congratulations to Karoline Christin Davidson!

[su_column size=”1/1″]

Mu Sigma Alpha Induction

Three students that are in the top 10% of their class were inducted into Mu Sigma Alpha by Dr. Thomas Taggert. Congratulations to Olivia Bien, Jeffrey Payne and Tracy White.